You are now leaving FindUniversity.ph and will automatically be redirected to Edukasyon.ph

×
Apply to Schools Online with Edukasyon.ph

Sign up for an Edukasyon.ph account and apply directly to your chosen college or university.

Discover scholarships and other offerings that suit your needs.
What's more: Edukasyon.ph has exclusive short courses, study abroad fairs, and all the latest information on all your education needs.

Register Now

Testimonials of BS in Social Work Graduates from the Philippines

R. C.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Mindanao State University
◈ Graduated 2012

list bulletMy current job: I am currently working as a City Link Officer in Malaybalay City, under the Department of Social Welfare and Development's (DSWD) poverty-alleviation program on Conditional Cash Transfer commonly known as Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: If the computer has this so called WYSIWIG (what you see is what you get), then what I learned from the university is WILIWIG (what I learned is what I get). Indeed I'm so blessed to learn specifically the social work skills, knowledge and values which are of essential use in my current work now in Malaybalay City.

Social Work techniques are also vital in the current work I have now since dealing with people is our utmost activity. Learnings I got on Case Management are also practical in my work today since we also took in our priority the situations of every household beneficiaries/clients whom we are working with and strategizing ways with them in order that at the end of the 5-year contracted term of helping relationship, the clients are helped to see and perceived that they are able to help themselves in whatever circumstance they may find themselves in. I couldn't express more about the details of my work, how we, with my other co-workers, are struggling with the challenges of the many tasks. Yet Im so thankful now that sometime during my college life, I once became a student of the profession in Mindanao State University Main Campus.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After knowing the result of the Board Exam for Social Workers given last June 2012 (from which I fortunately passed) I started applying for job last July 2012 and hired sometime in August 2012. So it took me four months before I got my first job as a City Link Officer in DSWD Field Office 10.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Basically, everyone of us must be engaged on certain tasks which are of great helped to those who are in need, that's given. But my recommendation is for those who have even a little passion to render service and give quality time to serve the needy individual, groups, or communities. Yes, I'm highly recommending this profession distinct to the cause of engineering our society thru the use of social work methods. This is indeed a fulfilling career on top to the expected benefits one can get upon his/her actual engagement in the profession.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. M.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At La Concordia College
◈ Graduated 2007

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: There are areas specialization for this, where you would like to practice:
1) clinical or hospital based Social worker
2) Institutional (like children home, home for aged, rehab etc)
3) Community Organization (community based social worker)
4) Industrial Setting (working in office environment, handling their Corporate Social Responsibility account)

list bulletAbout my college education: Iit was enjoying and give self fulfilling since it was a more on Psychology.
Students are required to have the "practicum" our term for OJT. This is where I've been assigned in children institution, need to go with the in house child to do a home visit for her mother.
Child mother is known to be a drug user, their place is shanty house. But seeing them reunited with her other sibling is a heart warming. T'his work is self fulfilling need a lot dedication commitment and passion, as you are dealing with peoples lives.

list bulletMy current job: Handling Corporate Social Responsibility in our office. Where we organize outreach program, going to the indigenous people, giving them seminars are continuous help.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: All the theories and practices are essential to apply in the career.
Lesson to have a compassionate heart is always used and apply.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Immediately after the passing the board exam, as the school will help you through connections and referral.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: I highly recommend this course as we are now lacking of professional now. Good thing about this course is they are few graduates so the competition is not very tough. Community is waiting for all of us who have a heart to give help.
This is self fulfilling Job, as you have touched peoples live.

Starting Salary level of new graduates 15k- up (depending on your company).

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Make sure that you really like your course is, working with rich, poor and every kind of person, foreign nationalities, tribes, indigenous people will be possible. There will be a lot of travels where you will enjoy for sure. Training and continuous development is in place.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
B. M.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Mindanao State University
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: I choose my course since I am interested in learning how to help abused children and street chidren.

list bulletAbout my college education: I learned to work with the client, practice confidentiality, and put their best interest ahead in facilitating the interventions they need.

All subjects are manageable as long as you think positively in every requirement you have.

I learned to love my course in order to be effective.

We where the second top performing school at our time. Reviews where challenging but in our dedication in studying and faith in God, we passes the board!

Patience, loving your course and faith in God was the ingredient in passing the course and the board exam.

list bulletMy current job: Currently working as a Project Development Officer II (PDO2) at the Department of Social Welfare and Development under the Pantawid program.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Flexibility and Diversion, being open-minded

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took four months before I was hired.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Employment opportunities are everywhere. We can work in the industry, medical, academe, government, NGO's.

I get salary grade 15 contractual in 3 years experience.

It's a fulfilling career and I have no regrets.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Go for it! Helping people is a satisfaction and a great fufillment.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
P. D.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Mindanao State University
◈ Graduated 2006

list bulletAbout my college education: A social worker is a client advocate to all services of a social work. A mediator between two conflicting parties. A teacher, someone who painstakingly helps person towards self-determination. Among the other skills, we acquired the skill to demonstrate effective oral and written communication in working with individuals, families, groups, organizations, communities, and colleagues. We also engage diversity and difference in practice for the university itself is of diverse students.

My undergraduate studies was fulfilling. It has given me skills required of the profession. Skills, knowledge and attitude are emphasized in the university.

list bulletMy current job: Medical Social Worker

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Standards expected that a social work emanate are taught in the university. However, the real picture of what the profession is, will be given through our field work (practicum).
I am using the practical ones but I am trying hard to come near the standards.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 1 month

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Social work caters a lot of opportunities for future students. A wide array of work after graduation is imminent. When it comes to renumeration, you will be compensated well.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
B. J.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Centro Escolar University
◈ Graduated 2015

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: I chose to study Social Work because I wanted to reach-out to the less privileged and to understand more the issues and concerns of the weak and abused in the country and to know how can I help them.

list bulletAbout my college education: Social Work helps you to deal with the social awareness of people on the issues and concerns of the weak, deprived, and the oppressed who are most of the times the clients of the Social Workers.
One of the useful subjects in this course is the Social Realities, it will help you to be aware of the true situation of our society and how this affects the daily lives of the people.

Passing the exams is not hard it is sometimes common sense but most of the times dedication in studying and analyzing the situations of the people in the exams. I think some of my batchmates shifted not because the course is hard but because they lack dedication in the essence of Social Work.

The required attitude in this course is dedication and commitment to touch the lives of other people.

list bulletMy current job: Social Welfare Officer in DSWD Field Office-NCR

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Yes it is practical and you learn to be independent and be professional in your work.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After knowing the result of the Board Exam for Social Workers given last July 2015 (from which I fortunately passed) I started applying for job last August 2015 and hired sometime in September 2015. So it took me four months before I got my first job as a Social Welfare Officer.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Yes. I would highly recommend others to study the field of Social Work as nowadays many societies are in need of help for restoration and many social issues are arising. Our country is need of more Social Workers to help the oppressed, neglected, and the abused of the community.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: One advice I can share is to make sure that you really like Social Work. There will be a lot of trials and learnings where you will enjoy for sure. Training and continuous development will help you to grow as a person.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. S.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Pamantasan Ng Lungsod Ng Maynila
◈ Graduated 2008

list bulletAbout my college education: Social work as a profession is a very interesting course. Only few students know that the course exist in the university. when they hear social work they automatically thought of "volunterism", but you can make money out of it. but yeah volunteer is a part but not a course. I myself once believe that I can not earn as much as people in the call center did, but I was wrong. I am now practicing my degree and hey I earn a lot higher than I was in an BPO industry.
In this course you got to have a lot of patience, because we were dealing with the beggars, street children, malfunction community, persons deprived by the society and even mental incapacipated. and I Love kids that's why Im enjoying the professing. a lot of times you have to deal with the kids especially the street children.

list bulletMy current job: CityLink DSWD (Department of Social Welfare and Development) NCR

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Yes. As a citylink we use one of the approaches of social work and that is Community Organization.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 8 months, because I have to take first the board exam which is usually every july once a year.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Yes absoluetly. unlike other courses, social work as a profession has a higher level of demands than supply, in that case you can choose from different settings with no worries that you might not get a job of your degree.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
L. G.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At University Of The Philippines Diliman
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletAbout my college education: In studying social work, there are a lot of things that I learned which I am also applying in my career right now. To be successful in this field, one must have the following traits:

1. Analytic skills - You need to analyze people, their situation, the larger society and how all these interact and affect one another. You also need to see the root causes of problems or how does one problem affect the other. In UP, we were given plenty of room to analyze the problems (theoretical and realistic ones).

2. Communication skills - social work is a profession which deals with people. Hence, it is important to know how to communicate with people. Up gave me an opportunity to deal with all kinds of people through field trips, agency visits, and everyday classroom experiences.

3. Problem Solving skills - Pretty much, you will be facing problems (especially other people's) when you enter social work. Thus, you need a lot of the problem solving skills. UP teaches theories and methods that can help you with this. The school doesn't spoon feed it's students, rather they teach the students how to solve problems on their own, but with ample guidance.

4. Research Skills - Social work studies deal with a lot of paperworks, so you better be prepared to research for theories, cases and other materials relevant to your subjects.

5. Open-mindedness - One principle of social work is acceptance. Often, Social work deals with the people who are neglected by society (deviants, poor, etc.) However, studying in UP exposed me to the realities of these people so I can understand them better.

list bulletMy current job: I am a social worker for an International Sponsorship Organization.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: What I learned in College truly helped me with my work at present. Practical knowledge on project development has helped me in my work. I was able to make a contribution in the organization I belong to at present. In addition, the values (high regard for the masses, acceptance, high regard for honor and excellence) I learned from school is also what I value in my work at present.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I graduated in April. Took the board exam in June, and had a job in July even before the result of the board exam came out.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: In the Philippines and other countries, there are a lot of opportunities for social workers. There are also a lot of fields that you can set your career path on. In addition to that, we are relatively few in the country, so there are really a lot of job opportunities.

It is a fulfilling profession since you are able to help other people while earning money for yourself. However, the usual salary may not be as high as those in the corporate world.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. A.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Capiz State University - Pilar Campus
◈ Graduated 2014

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: Actually, I had no idea what the course it is. But my cousin who is currently from Capiz told me that I can enroll in BSSW and we will be classmates that time. With no hesitations I enrolled. Malalaman ko din naman kung anu tung pinasok.

list bulletAbout my college education: Nalearn ko? Ang dami basta kapag may problema ismile lang di lang tayo ang may problema sa mundo. Challenging ang pagiging Social Worker. In love na ako sa SOCIAL WORK. <3

list bulletMy current job: Medical Social Worker

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Pagiging mapakumbaba po. Be patience always and our clients was our first priority.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: April 2014 - Graduation
May 2014 June 25,2014- Hanap ng pambayad sa review, review notes & para sa board exam.
June 29-30, 2014-Board Exam
July 2014- Result na. Atlast, RSW nako. :) Thank you lord
August-September 2014- searching, net, seeking job, applications, grabe daming kong pinasahan sana matanggap na ako
October 1st week-Interview na.
October 2nd week-Hired na sa NGO. :)

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Maraming mapasukan basta wag lang susuko sa paghanap ng trabaho. BE PATIENCE!
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
Z. C.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Mindanao State University Marawi City
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: Because it was recommended to me by my brother.

list bulletAbout my college education: Social Work may sound uninteresting and boring to a lot of students. But I have learned a lot of things. Not only with academics but also with life. You have to be patient and understanding to be successful in this course.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently reviewing for the Board Exam

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Yes. I would recommend Social work. But only to the people that I know will understand the real essence of Social Work. Not just because of the Salary.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Do not just study and memorize your lessons. Try to understand all the theories and put everything in to action or put yourself in every situation.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
G. L.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Mindanao State University
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletAbout my college education: Studying Social Work for me was really interesting. It requires passion and commitment in dealing with the course, especially so that you deal different kinds of people and situations. It's a difficult course, but when you understand the goals you will find it fulfilling.

list bulletMy current job: I am working as a Caseworker of 128 children in one of the Christian Non-Government Organizations in partnership with Compassion International. My work is much related to my profession. I am able to inculcate change into the lives of other people for the better especially the children.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Yes, hundred percent useful. It taught me everything about my profession.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Opportunities came after I passed the exam, and had my job within a month.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Yes. I would highly recommend others to study the field of Social Work as nowadays many societies are in need of help for restoration and many social issues are arising. Our country is need of more Social Workers to affect change.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. D.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Iligan Medical Center College
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: I chose this course because it deals with the social awareness of people and you get the opportunity to touch the lives of other people.

list bulletAbout my college education: I've learn about the empathy on how to solve social problems on the community and knowing that people needs an attention and seek for awareness aid
So I learned to handle Evey problems really well, the exams are not that difficult but it requires a lot of patience on taking notes and memorizing it throughout the day.
But it's so fun :)

list bulletMy current job: Brgy. Social Worker.
The salary is not too high but the important thing is that you help other people.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Help. Help. Help the people who are in need.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After the Board Exam, actually there are some employers who reach us to work in the government, so we embrace it.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Yes because it's fulfilling, but the salary level is not that high compared to other courses. But I assure you that you'll easily hired and get a job after you graduate and pass the board exam.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: My advice for those people who are taking up this course is that you shall be determined and have the passion to persevere, just accept this course whole heartedly then everything will go smooth.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
K. J.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Pangasinan State University - Open University Systems
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: Because I have a heart willing to love, ears willing to listen and a hands willing to help.

list bulletAbout my college education: I learned how to consider the feelings of other people, I learned how to cope up from life cruelties, I learned Professionalism, I learned how to surpass life impediments with faith and patience, I learned to deal with a heart to other people and most importantly. I learned how to live out of my comfort zone.

list bulletMy current job: PDO (Project Development Officer) at DSWD (Department of Social Welfare and Development) CCT PROGRAM

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: April 2013 graduated
April 2013 apply for a job
June 2o13 passed the board exam
June 2013 job interview
September 2013 hired ๐Ÿ˜Š

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: I consider Social Work profession as exciting and exceptional ๐Ÿ˜Šbeing a social worker you should have a heart and consideration (the best way to consider is to be considerate in considering what to be considered) we should not be insensitive..
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. N.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Mindanao State University
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletAbout my college education: Studying Social Work is not easy as to compare to other courses. You need to sacrifice your own interest for the sake of other people. You need to set in your mind the essence of volunteerism. In some cases you will go to remote and under develop places to induce change. Change that will enable them to become socially functional and be able to empowered people. It is interesting course and fulfilling seeing happy faces and empowered people.

list bulletMy current job: I am one of the current City Links Officer of Iligan City under DSWD Conditional Cash Transfer Program. My current position is really related to my profession where in I served as the CO worker ans Case Manager of the said City.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It takes months to arrive and get a job that is related in our profession. Social Workers are now in demand world wide because of social problems and social issues that affect the population world wide.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Yes. I would like to promote Social Work as your field of study. 100 percent enjoy and fulfilling.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
C. D.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Asian Social Institute
◈ Graduated 2009

list bulletAbout my college education: I loved the course of study. Very relevant and the course that the young generation should consider pursuing esp. If they have heart to help people and make the world a better place to live in.
I find SW educ very interesting. The difficult part for me was when there's conflict between work and studies.
Yes, what I learned was practical in the real world.

list bulletMy current job: Social Welfare & Development Officer which is very related to my education.
I oversee the operation of a home for survivors of abuses.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: In my case, my position required that I be a registered Social Worker so I went back to school to study. The work was always there and after I passed the boards, many job offers came.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Most definitely especially now that social problems are increasing.
We badly needed more social workers to help regain/maintain societal sanity : )
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
T. J.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Central Philippine University
◈ Graduated 1989

list bulletAbout my college education: It is interesting because you are dealing with people and you enhance people personality and capability of whom you impart your knowledge and skills to one another.
As a student your required to be analytical and be creative to be challenge in your daily life.

list bulletMy current job: Manager in Cooperative

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Yes it is practical and you learn to be independent and be professional.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 6 months after graduation, I was employed as researcher

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: Yes, I will recommend this course because it is fulfilling and interesting career.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
M. P.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao
◈ Graduated 2005

list bulletAbout my college education: It is interesting for me because I was given the chance to handle a problem that I myself will solve.

list bulletMy current job: None, because I decided to resign in my job as coordinator in a globe distributor company.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Not just yet, because I haven't taken the board exam yet.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 2 years

list bulletDo I recommend studying Social Work: I recommend this course because it is interesting. One can learn strategies on how to handle different problems, and with different people.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. J.
◈ Studied BS in Social Work
◈ At Universidad De Manila
◈ Graduated 2016

list bulletWhy did I choose Social Work: Social Work was not my choice as a student, I wanted to pursue Tourism because, I wanted to travel the world. During that time, I was SK Chairman, so I do have privileges to chose any school I want to enroll. I inquired at UST, they told me that I will be having a 100% scholarship but there is a maintaining grade which is 1.25, that I know I cannot make it and once I failed, all of the expenses that given to me, I must be pay it back to the school. Since that I have knowledge that my parents can afford me to send in private schools, I chose not to enroll in private schools, because I do believe that education must be free to anyone. I took entrance exam at UP and PLM, and failed. I passed the entrance exam at PUP and UDM, at PUP, my course that I chose is BS Tourism, but there was a quota and height requirement. So I decided to enroll at UDM. When I entered the UDM, I was a late enrollee. So, there were already closed courses.

list bulletAbout my college education: The most useful things I have learned is how to talk to clients.
The most difficult subject for me is programs and services and administration.
Passing the exam is difficult, but I made it.
You must be dedicated, passionate and believing in your capacity and have faith.

list bulletMy current job: I am working as a CSR (customer service representative) at SM Foundation.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: A year
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull

Find Social Work schools

Share your experience
Are you a graduate of BS in Social Work?
Tell us about your experience »
0.031