You are now leaving FindUniversity.ph and will automatically be redirected to Edukasyon.ph

×
Apply to Schools Online with Edukasyon.ph

Sign up for an Edukasyon.ph account and apply directly to your chosen college or university.

Discover scholarships and other offerings that suit your needs.
What's more: Edukasyon.ph has exclusive short courses, study abroad fairs, and all the latest information on all your education needs.

Register Now
×

Get online training from Amazon. Register for FREE!

We're offering online resources for web-based careers through AWS Educate, Amazon's global online education initiative! Get access to a curriculum from the world's leading universities. Registration is free!

The course is open to 14 years old and above only.

Learn More Register for FREE!
×

Get online training from Amazon. Register for FREE!

We're offering online resources for web-based careers through AWS Educate, Amazon's global online education initiative! Get access to a curriculum from the world's leading universities. Registration is free!

The course is open to 14 years old and above only.

Polytechnic University of the Philippines

Manila, Metro Manila
menu ≡

Reviews of PUP Manila graduates

+ Add Your Review
K. R.
◈ Studied BS in Computer Engineering
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: Aside from the having the cheapest tuition nationwide. The institution is known for quality education and truly one of the powerhouse when it comes to engineering.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The atmosphere of PUP is not quite ideal, but it is not the atmosphere that will give you the knowledge but the teachings of the well-trained and well-knowledgeable professors.

The professors of PUP Computer Engineering are knowledgeable, approachable and giving their utmost effort for the student to understand well the lessons that they are teaching.

The facilities of PUP is not enough when it comes to quality and quantity, but what makes PUP students more adorable is their resourcefulness and innovation that makes them not far behind from other universities.

list bulletMy current job: Associate Network Engineer
In my job my primary role is to do troubleshooting and support, and server management.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It takes me 6 months from date of graduation.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. J.
◈ Studied Bachelor in Broadcast Communication
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2011

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: I chose this school because of the quality of education a State University can offer as well as the freedom to study with limited budget for tuition. With a 12 pesos per unit tuition fee, I know it'll ease my family of the financial burden.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: Located at Sta. Mesa Manila, PUP Manila is accessible via public transportation such as jeepneys and LRT 2. The ambiance is just like any other universities, it offers wide spaces for students to roam around and socialize.

The professors and instructors of PUP are great, most of them are working in the industry they are teaching which helps them pass on a more first-hand look on how it'll be like after graduating with the course.

As for the facilities, PUP lacks a few modern facilities since it is a public institution, some of the problems includes lack of chairs in class rooms, electric fans / aircons, and proper comfort rooms. But, despite of these, the quality of education is still at par with global standards.

list bulletMy current job: I am current a Social Media Manager for Socialdraft, a Social Media Company based in the US. I handle social media pages of businesses and produce creative contents to engage fans.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: For my first job, it took me around 3 months to get it. My first job was being an Events Officer for an events company based in Quezon City.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
B. V.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: PUP-Manila is a government school. The school has the lowest tuition fee in the entire country. Most of it's students are intelligent but are financially challenged. The atmosphere is quite aggresive. There are lots of student organization who are always ready to fight for students' rights. PUP students are trained to be optimistic and fighters.

The professors are very good and some of them are also teaching private schools. They are very capable to share their students what they really deserve. As the professors always said, they love the students more than they love the school.

The facilities are not so good. But then, what can you expect to a less than P1,000 tuition fee per sem? Students go to school not because they have the good facilities but because they are very eager to learn.

list bulletMy current job: I am an auditor from one of the top accounting and auditing firms in the country. Thanks to my alma matter for honing my skills and abilities. With about 2 years in the Company, I am already expecting to be promoted as a supervisor mid of this year.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After graduation, I enrolled in a review school as preparation for the Board Exams. It was May 2010 when I graduated and my review class ended October 2010. Fortunately, I easily grabbed a position in a real estate firm after passing the board exam. It was October 2010 when I passed the board and November 2010 when I started my first job.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. M.
◈ Studied BS in Broadcast Journalism
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 1983

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: Since my parents were both struggling in our everyday needs, I just decided to study in one of the cheapest state universities, and that is PUP.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The ambiance was just fine, and the professors were very intelligent and cool. I've learned a lot of things from them.

list bulletMy current job: I am an Executive Secretary, reporting directly to the President of the company.


list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took me 6 months before I started my career as a Department Secretary in the largest bookstore in our country.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
G. D.
◈ Studied AB in Journalism
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2007

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: Financial reasons.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: Atmosphere - inside the university..it's ok. Generally conducive for studying but outside it's a totally different environment. Chaotic. I graduated from a private school so studying in P.U.P. Was an interesting experience for me. I was sheltered from a lot of things when I was in high school. Studying in a state university taught me a lot about being street smart and I learned to be tolerant of others.

Professors - there are some good professors though I highly recommend that all college faculty members pass some sort of competency test.

list bulletMy current job: I'm an editorial analyst for an outsourcing company. I read newspapers/journals/magazines then index the topic of what I read.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I graduated may 2, 2007. Took a semi-vacation (almost a month) then got a job august 6, 2007
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. F.
◈ Studied BS in Hotel and Restaurant Management
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: It is a public school with subsidised tuition fee.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The school is okay. It's not as beautiful and big as those private schools but at least in terms of professors and course curriculum, PUP is at par with the top universities in the country.

list bulletMy current job: I am a hotel receptionist.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I have a job right away, since I had an OJT in a well known hotel in the metro, they liked my service and my attitude, hence, they did not let go of me even when I have completed the required hours for my OJT.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
K. A.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2007

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The professors in our College are known in their area of expertise, and for being fairly notorious. Should they think you deserve to fail, you will indeed fail. No but's, no why's. And it works the other way around as well.

Our college (COA occupies 80% of 5th floor of the main building) is always very crowded and you won't feel ashamed studying, even until late in the evening. You will always find students sitting on the floor reading books, preparing for the exams, asking each other questions about the upcoming lecture - name it. The environment invites you to do nothing but study. And, surprisingly, I do not find it boring as everyone have the same interest to pass the course.

Our school is a state university so the facilities are something that people do not want to talk about as it will just trigger complaints and heat up the situation. If the college wants to fix this room, professors and students will have to contribute, otherwise, you will have to wait a hundred years before things get done. The good thing about this though is that this situation did not hinder the college, the professors and the students to be the best at what they do. Accountancy has always been our school's laurel and our students the cream of the crop, not only in school but also in the industry.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently the Compliance officer of a multinational company with a business on agriculture.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After graduation, I still had to take the CPA board exams. After passing the Board, in 2 weeks time, I already started my job in the most prestige audit firm in the Philippines.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
B. E.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2014

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: I chose this school primarily because a lot of my high school classmates and friends were planning on enrolling in PUP-Sta Mesa. I've also heard from a lot of friends (they were either former graduates of the school or they knew someone who are studying/have studied in the school) that PUP Sta Mesa provides high quality education. Aside from this, I've known from research that PUP Sta Mesa does excellently in the different board exams. Last but not the least, I chose this school because they have the lowest tuition fee with only Php 12/unit, there were even times that I was able to pay for my own tuition fee, even if I was just a student.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: ATMOSPHERE: Anyone who have been to PUP Sta Mesa would say that the school have a very friendly and jovial atmosphere. It is very much like an extension of your high school. Students often walk around campus with their group of friends. There are also plenty of food kiosks inside and outside the campus that sell budget-friendly snacks and meals. On the down side, the school is situated in a very noisy and crowded environment. Just outside the main gate is a rail road track where PNR trains pass by every 10 minutes or so, and the passing trains emit noises so loud that you can hear it even inside the classrooms. Also, student-activists often hold rallies during school hours and there were even times where they would barge inside classrooms to hold protests.

PROFESSORS: From my own experience, professors who have taught us are often board passers in their field of study. Most of them have a Doctorate degree, are authors of books used in the university and have been teaching for at least 10 years. What I don't like about some professors is that some require you to buy their books. This is fine with me, but there were a lot of times when we didn't even use or discuss a single page from the book that we purchased from them. Also, there were professors who wouldn't even come to class for consecutive days without any notice. I've also had this professor who literally GUESSES grades. He even gave me the class card and told me to just think of my own grade since he was too busy with some other matter. The college admin eventually found out about this, though I don't know what happened to the professor.

FACILITIES: If there can only be one thing that I absolutely hate about the school, it's definitely the facilities. There are NO functional comfort rooms for student use: most have a pungent smell, you have to use a "tabo" to flush toilets (you can do this only if there is tap water available in the CR), and some doesn't even have doors for the cubicles. Most classrooms DON'T have electric fans so you'll often see students fanning themselves while lectures are on-going. Classrooms are also way, way too crowded that some students don't even have chairs (not to mention that almost all chairs are kind of broken and vandalized). There are no facilities for PWD students, so they will really have a problem if, for example, they have a class in the fifth floor.

list bulletMy current job: As of now, I do a part-time job since I'm still reviewing for the CPA board exams. I work as an Accounting Clerk. I work Monday-Friday except on Wednesdays which I reserve for my review day (along with my review classes every Saturday and Sunday). In my job, I actually do quite a lot of things. I prepare the report presentations for board meetings, I check and balance account statements, record transactions, and reply via e-mail to the company's clients. I also update the company's records and help the company's CPA in preparing BIR requirements.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took me less than a week when I was hired in my current work.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
L. N.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2003

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: This is the only university that I took a college entrance exam.
My primary reason: low tuition fee

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: Ambiance: Way back 2000, it is not really pretty. From chairs to comfort rooms, you'll really feel the "cheap-tuition fee" vibe. But I made a recent visit to PUP, and I saw a huge improvement on ambiance and facilities.

Professors: Of course there are professors/instructors who gets on your nerves (absentee, unreasonably strict, incompetent, indifferent etc.) but the number of great and highly qualified ones outnumbers them.

list bulletMy current job: I now moved to SAP FICO analyst/consultant role after 8 years of working in general accounting.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Just one month. Please note that Monster and Jobstreet were not yet a "thing" in 2003, but I managed to land my first job in just a month with the help of my alma mater. Me and my friend leveraged on the University's job placement assistance.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
I. A.
◈ Studied AB in English
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2012

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: I studied in a government university. Environment wise it is not as comfortable as the other private school, we do not have enough chairs in every classroom, We only have 2 ceiling fans and sometimes the other one is broken. Evidently there is a lack of support from the government. However there is an air of angst of the youth and an aura that says "we may be poor but we are intelligent and determined to use that to that the ladder of success" On the lighter side the said inconveniences are daring the students to step out of their comfort zone and aim for better things through their fortified mental strength.

list bulletMy current job: Editorial Assistant

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Two weeks
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
M. E.
◈ Studied BS in Clinical Psychology
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2009

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: I chose this school because of low tuition fee and quality education at the same time.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: My school signifies the type of students in there - the ones that is persevering in every way. It may have average facility but they have excellent professors.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently working in a school. I am a Testing Clerk. I administer psychological test (for pre-employment), diagnostic test, and admissions test.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: One month
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
H. B.
◈ Studied Bachelor in Business Administration Major in Marketing
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2009

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: First, Polytechnic University of the Philippines offer a low tuition fee. Also, by choosing my PUP it the same way as choosing a link for more opportunities. I am exposed to a lot of activities and developed my skills.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The school atmosphere really relaxing with a given a lot of trees for times when you get tired. There are also lots of some kind of "tourist spot" like Mabini Circle and the Lagoon.

The professors really teach us to be more competitive giving all their best and help for us to be really for the real world of employment. They provide us the support exactly what we need. Some of our professors are strict and I love it because they are really helpful to be more grown up.

The school facilities were not that good but great because you can find there the one of the largest school libraries in Asia. There is also a soccer filed, lots of basketball courts and especially church for religious matters.

list bulletMy current job: I am a Sales and Marketing person.
I do the marketing all about floor coverings on a private company. I close the deal and always create a win win situation among out supplier and dealer. Time and measurement is the name of my game.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I already had my job two weeks before my graduation. I was absorbed by the company where I conduct my OJT. My performance and a good grade with help my Alma Mater really counts. I graduated as Dean's Lister with less than 0.5 difference to be a Cum Laude.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. H.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 1992

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The professors are dedicated, respectful to the students, and giving all the best to transfer knowledge. The atmosphere during our time is acceptable. We have lagoons and library to stay during our free time. The facilities are good and I was unable to experience the opening of the modern library as we already graduated.

list bulletMy current job: After graduated in 1992, I started a job in an Accounting firm. Then 20 years later, I avail early retirement to have my own business.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It was easy then as job openings are not complicated during our time. Unlike today, more jobs on BPO, IT and skilled are offered. For Accounting, you need to be a CPA and young to be accepted.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
L. D.
◈ Studied BA Advertising and Public Relations
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2006

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: I come from a very humble family where my parents can not afford to send me to a private university, that is why I decided to go to PUP. I was able to graduate paying only three hundred pesos every semester.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The Hunger Games: Pinoy Edition, this is what studying in PUP is like for me. The university has excellent professors, and most of the students come from poor families. This is why every project that requires money contribution seems like a fight, a struggle, just to be completed. But the financial challenges taught us to be resourceful, patient and hardworking. PUP is a great training ground of discipline and focus. As a PUP student the only way for you to surpass all the obstacles of college life is to be determined and focused, to promise your self that you are going to graduate no matter what and that you will not allow anything to come your way, because a PUP student knows that a college degree is his ticket out of poverty. Most of the professors in this university are aware of the students' financial situation, that is why they are usually more patient and less strict with the working students. But the PUP environment will teach you to be independent, to be brave enough to speak your mind, to not back down on challenges, and to be confident with the choices you make.

list bulletMy current job: I am a writer in one of the leading media companies in the country.
I have been working for a reputable media company for 8 years and up to this moment, I am enjoying every commercial gap seen on TV where some of it are already produced by me.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It only took me 2 weeks after graduation to find a job.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
C. T.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: Atmosphere in PUP, of course, was not so good. The room with 2 ceiling fans nearly not working is so congested with almost 50-60 hardworking students who really desire to graduate -- this helped me to inspire and have the need to study more because of our situation.

Professors are really a good help for me to graduate with honors. I always raise questions when it is hard for me to understand the rationale behind.

Facilities are almost not good. Chairs always incomplete to fill in a class, I still can remember that you should always run and get the finest arm chair you can have. This, had helped me understand that studying is hard but you should still have an end in mind. I will graduate with honors, be a CPA, and help my alma mater.

list bulletMy current job: Finance Analyst on a Multinational Company

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Almost 6 months. Since I had to take review. I took the Professional examination Oct 2010 and luckily I passed and garnered 87%, so I easily landed a job on one of the big auditing firms.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. S.
◈ Studied AB in English
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2007

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: It's my second dream school. The school's prestige was also a considered factor.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The ambiance in school seemed not so conducive to learning. The facilities were out of date. However, the quality of professors' teaching was the best.

list bulletMy current job: I currently work as an English professor at the Far Eastern University Diliman in Quezon City.
I handle Basic Communication Skills and Technical and Business Writing courses. I also act as Thesis English Adviser from time to time.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took me only a month to find a job after graduation. My first job was being an online English instructor to Koreans of different levels/ages from 2007-2009.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. D.
◈ Studied BS in Hotel and Restaurant Management
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2008

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: The quality of teaching, popularity of the school and lower tuition fee.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The ambiance in our college at that time was okay however; the curriculum and the professors were very helpful to achieve the dreams of every students.

list bulletMy current job: I am a Resort Host.
As a resort host I am responsible to ensure that our guest will have a wonderful stay in our resort. To ensure that the SOP (standard operating procedures) were applied to every guests.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 2 months before the graduation I applied for a job and 1 month before graduation I had a job already.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. A.
◈ Studied Bachelor in Computer Data Processing Management
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 1992

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: I am very thankful that I was one of the beneficiaries of a State University. I graduated with honors and had landed on job that is within my course.

PUP is a competitive University, which I am proud of it. The curriculum is not outdated, it however updated to the needs of the business. This is a fact that majority of it's graduates have landed a better job in most of the top companies in the country and even abroad.

My professors are dedicated and committed to their profession. They taught us on what is necessary and give tips on how it is being applied to business. In addition, they are intelligent and hard working. We always have a class and reports to finish that enables us to understand how it is in real corporate world.

In terms of facilities, only a few units are with the latest hardware and software, and the rest are outdated, but not much. We understand this condition as we are a State University which most of the budget comes from the government. We are happy enough that we had a computer building that has enough units for the students to use. Besides we are not paying that much compared to those with high tuition fees but with fewer resources.

list bulletMy current job: Currently I work as Project Manager in one of the top 5 best companies to work in the world. I am lucky enough that I had been considered though I had finished my studies in a State University, as majority of my office mates have finished their studies in most of the affluent Universities in the country.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After graduation, I already had job offers but most of those were teaching career in IT, which I did not accept as I believe I will not be an efficient teacher as I had never experience or hands on of the computer systems.

By which, I did search and made job hunting for two months. After a series of interviews with varied companies, I was able to pass and hired in one of the companies in Quiapo. I was offered the position as Programmer, which I was very happy. It is not only that a good paying job but it is also within the course that I had finished in college.

But after having work experience in the corporate world, I had also made a point to share my experience and that I took part time teaching jobs as it is something that I had to give back to the community, to younger generation.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
E. B.
◈ Studied BS in Computer Science
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2008

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: I chose PUP because it has low tuition fees.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The ambiance of my school was not that good because the rooms are messy and chairs and windows are broken. In spite of the facilities, professors and teachers were really good and I have learned so much from them. They were considerate and fair to students.

list bulletMy current job: I am a Systems Analyst.
Basically I design systems for a particular client that wants to automate their processes. I also do coding, database design and testing.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I was lucky to already have a job before I graduated.
The company hired me as a part-time employee at first while I'm studying and then I became a full time employee after my graduation.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. C.
◈ Studied BS in Computer Engineering
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: Polytechnic University of the Philippines has a cheaper tuition fee and it surely offer me a high quality education that I deserve. PUP is also one of the best state universities here in the Philippines. Some said that it is the university for the poor but for the information of many, it also the Home of the Leaders. This university produced high skilled graduates. Being graduated in this university is a great encounter.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The atmosphere - PUP Manila campus has been home to fiery student activism, even going as extreme as throwing desks and chairs and setting them on fire in protest against increase in tuition.

The professors - I do love all of my professors. They are so friendly, so great and I learned a lot from them.

The facilities - Facilities are not enough. We didn't have enough resources. On one computer, we will be more than 7 students using it. Even the chairs, we need to go to other rooms just to borrow one from there. On the outside, the campus has made good use of it's riverside location by getting it's own river ferry station of Pasig River ferry service. This makes PUP the only campus in Metro Manila at least that manages to have it's ferry station.

list bulletMy current job: I'm an Associate Software Engineer. I'm responsible for managing IT assets distributed over multiple sites. I also manages daily activities of Asset software team. My job is also responsible for the strong implementation and enforcing software management controls.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 8 months after my graduation.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
C. R.
◈ Studied Bachelor in Banking and Finance
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: How far can your Php12 go? Well, mine gave me a diploma.

The Polytechnic University of the Philippines offers quality education for only Php12 per unit. I was not born with a silver spoon in my mouth. Thank God for PUP, I was able to get my bachelor's degree without making a hole in the pockets of my parents.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: PUP is not as high class compared to other schools.

Our rooms, which caters to an approximate of 50 students per class, are small. Our computers are just few, and so a group of 3-5 students would share in a single computer. Our typewriters are rusty and has been used since time in memorial. But despite the situation, students are happy and learning a lot from our passionate professors.

PUP students know their rights and fight for what is due to them. This is the reason why our tuition fee is still Php12 per unit. I am thankful to the student activists who leads, but I do not agree with the way they convey the message to the school administrators. I am not in favor of the rallies, of the burning of the chairs and the vandalism of the school facilities because there is a more peaceful way of expressing what we are fighting for.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently a management trainee under the Officers Development Program of RCBC Savings Bank. But the program will end soon and by June 2, 2014, I will be an official Accounts Officer, Junior Assistant Manager level, under the SME loans Department, Wholesale Lending Division of the Consumer Lending Group.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 1 month after graduation.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. D.
◈ Studied BS in Office Administration
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2009

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: PUP is the largest state university of the country, so what do I expect? Well, when it comes to faculty members, they are fully equipped and experts in their subject areas. I salute them. They were able to impart knowledge and skills despite the vintage typewriters and machine shorthand. For the theoretical subjects, I can still recall most of the topics because of the excellent teaching approach and strategies of our beloved professors.

list bulletMy current job: Full-time: HR Assistant
Part-time: Instructor/DJ
By Appointment: Resource Speaker/dubber/voice actor/Editor

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I was working before my graduation rites.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
S. V.
◈ Studied BS in Electronics & Communications Engineering
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2008

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: The quality of education is good and PUP offered the cheapest tuition fee ever! with just 12 pesos per unit.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The campus itself is beautiful, it has a lagoon where most lovers spend most of their time, a well lighted pathway beside the Pasig River.

The professors were well knowledgeable about the subject they are teaching. My only comment is that you are oblige to buy the book your teacher wrote.

list bulletMy current job: I am a Product Manager for Security Products like CCTV, wireless IP radio, Access Control System. My job is basically to master the product and technology used.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 2 months. (I started to look for a job 1 month after graduation)
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. A.
◈ Studied Bachelor in Cooperative
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2005

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: PUP itself is a very interesting state university. This is the university where you can find students from all walks of life, coexisting to attain their individual life goals. It is relatively easy to make new friends considering the more than 30,000 students who are internally known as 'Iskolar ng Bayan' (scholar of the nation). PUP welcomes full-time and part-time students and adult learners hence diversity will be immediately apparent when you enter the premises of the university. The seriousness of the place, nonetheless, is balanced by a festive mood every month. A college may coincide in celebrating their college months. College of Cooperative celebrates on the month of March, and it's a month-long celebration.

While it is a state university, it is exhausting its budget to upgrade its facilities especially the library. The Ninoy Aquino Library houses the most number of books in Asia, if not the largest library in Asia. You can also find the Information and Communications Technology Center in the library. This is a learning resource center where computing services are provided to the students free of charge.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently working as a full-time writer and a part-time coop trainer. I am very active in our local cooperative. In a way, I get to practice my writing skills while I was in college. The College of Cooperative conducts contests every October as part of the celebration of the foundation of the university. I won first place in essay writing contests for two consecutive years, that is, on my second and third year in college.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: What is good about the degree is that on your fourth year, particularly in the second semester, you will have 600-800 hours of practicum. Practicum is the same as on-the-job training. I had my practicum in the City Cooperative Development Office, just 20 minutes of walk from our house. The office had me 'absorbed' so it really didn't take that long for me to have a job. My performance is good and I even had one of the highest practicum ratings among the graduates.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
P. R.
◈ Studied BSBA in Human Resource Development Management
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: PUP is the school that caters ISKOLARS ng BAYAN and provides quality education towards their students. What I like about PUP's atmosphere is when I see several group of students who usually stay on the Middle Part of the Floors "DOME" to do their projects, practice their presentations, make their research, hangout, or even to copy assignments. Ooops! I think it's the students who holds the symbol of the school that any Filipino can received College Education without costing too much. I have to also give credit that the food in PUP are totally affordable.

I respect my professors because I know that they cannot be there without having their master's degree so they should be worth listening for. Although I have to be honest that not all professors from PUP are efficient and effective, maybe around 60-40. There are those who always go to classes on time and really follow our course outline while there are those who rarely show up and just gave us assignments we also rarely discussed. There were some demanding professors that would totally push you to give your best, while there are those who would just distress you by how they guess the grades. After all I'm still thankful to them, since I learned to distinguish the good, the better and the best and make use of it to my own performance.

PUP's facilities are mediocre. The seats are made of woods and the room capacity is usually around 40-50 people. The class is considered lucky if they have one functioning electric fan out there. That's what I experienced on my first three years. On my last year, I guess the school began spending money to improve the facilities, although it was a little disappointing that they gave priority to the designs of the corridors rather than improve the restrooms and classrooms. Nevertheless I still consider it a change rather than not having any change at all.

list bulletMy current job: I am pursuing my career as a writer (which I did not let myself to have when I started my college years) and my knowledge about business, people, and other things I learned, I turn them into stories. Stories that I hope would impact and give perspective to the readers about a different career, belief, or lifestyle. I am currently writing a book after finally deciding to quit from my job as a Call Center Agent. I know I will write someday, and if it will happen, it's better to do it now than just to waste time. I am doing freelance jobs online advertising etc. As a source of my income and planning to go back to my business that I had when I was still in college. As long any of these won't affect my time in writing, I will continue to find many more opportunities to learn specially in stock market and bonds. Since the economy is growing, I'm starting to look for ways to get involved.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Around a month after May 10, 2013 (our graduation day).
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
S. D.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: This school provides a quality education especially in the field of accountancy. My brother also studied there and he had a good feedback about this school. Also it offers the lowest tuition fee in the Philippines.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: The atmosphere in the school somehow raises up my pressure because of the different types of professors, terror etc. The facilities were not complete.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently working as a teller in bank. I am the one who counts money and record all the bank transactions.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: 8 months. Even before I graduated I have received offered jobs but I've chose to focus in my studies first.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
G. B.
◈ Studied BS in Business Administration
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2009

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: It was not my first choice because it was way to far from where we live. But, due to our financial incapacity to enroll me in a private school that when I tried to take the exam at PUP. Hopes never fail me when I passed the entrance exam as this would be of big help for our mother who works alone for us. I also believe in the knowledge and learnings this school will impart me as being one of a well known school and competitive somehow.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: To be honest, the ambiance was not that good. The building was old and you can actually see the lack of and poor facilities. It was bit uncomfortable studying because the rooms were open on both sides to make it more refreshing for us because it was not air conditioned. There are ceiling fans but sometimes it's defective.

Regarding the professor/instructor there were different types. There were good, terror, teach well, just sharing stories and many more. But despite of that I still thank my Alma Mater and my professors for imparting me with knowledge and learnings and for making me a better person.

list bulletMy current job: I'm currently working as a Restaurant Manager in a fast food chain.
I'm responsible to do floor control and manage our food, service, cleanliness and condition making sure we give our best for our customers. Making the daily operation in an effective and efficient manner.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I've been with this company for almost 11 years. I started in 2002 as a contractual service crew. In 2003 I was promoted as a regular employee. On Jan 2009, I was promoted as Section Manager service. After graduating from college on the same year and completed my school credentials, I was referred by my employer to the head office to apply and train for the position of shift manager as we call it before and now restaurant manager.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
R. G.
◈ Studied BS in Nutrition and Dietetics
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: I chose this school because of it's very low tuition fee but offered a quality education.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: I can say that the ambiance is well- ventilated and comfortable during the classes, meeting, practices and etc. When it comes to professor/ instructors, they are all knowledgeable, skill-oriented individuals and they really know what are they teaching. They are also kind and approachable to all the students who needed an assistance. Lastly, the Facilities are complete, fully-air conditioned,

list bulletMy current job: Nutritionist-Dietitian - is the one who take charge on the food that you eaten and the caloric content of every single foods.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took a 5 months, because I had a licensure exam after I graduated.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
L. F.
◈ Studied AB in English
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2014

list bulletWhy did I choose this school: It didn't cost much to study in this school.

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: As a state-funded institution, PUP lacks many things that other universities readily provide. But what it lacks in comfort, it makes up for it's ability to produce topnotch students who always end up as experts in their chosen fields.

list bulletMy current job: I'm a writer and editor for a company that provides online English tutorial services to students based in Japan. I take part in the format development and production of materials for ESL learners.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I was already working as a part-time online English teacher before I graduated. A month after graduation, I worked as a creative writer and staff trainer before landing my current job.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
G. B.
◈ Studied BS in Industrial Engineering
◈ At PUP Manila
◈ Graduated 2012

list bulletAbout PUP Manila: Education of IE in PUP for me is quite good. Professors are good, kind, considerate, some are strict and some are always absent. We have a lot of projects and Plant Tours.
I am in love with my University. I treat PUP as my 2nd home and I am really proud to be PUPian. The University is big, crowded students, lots of food outside, noisy, simple facilities etc. More fun studying at PUP.

list bulletMy current job: Sales Specialist

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I had my job week before my graduation day.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
Browse More Schools
0.062