You are now leaving FindUniversity.ph and will automatically be redirected to Edukasyon.ph

×
Apply to Schools Online with Edukasyon.ph

Sign up for an Edukasyon.ph account and apply directly to your chosen college or university.

Discover scholarships and other offerings that suit your needs.
What's more: Edukasyon.ph has exclusive short courses, study abroad fairs, and all the latest information on all your education needs.

Register Now
×

Get online training from Amazon. Register for FREE!

We're offering online resources for web-based careers through AWS Educate, Amazon's global online education initiative! Get access to a curriculum from the world's leading universities. Registration is free!

The course is open to 14 years old and above only.

Learn More Register for FREE!
×

Get online training from Amazon. Register for FREE!

We're offering online resources for web-based careers through AWS Educate, Amazon's global online education initiative! Get access to a curriculum from the world's leading universities. Registration is free!

The course is open to 14 years old and above only.

Testimonials of BS in Accountancy Graduates from the Philippines

N. J.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Philippine Christian University
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: BS Accountancy graduates are always sought-after by different companies. Here in the Philippines, various companies, especially global ones, start to set-up their offices. And in every company, accountants are always indispensable, so a lot of job opportunities are present once I graduate from this course. Also, Filipino accountants can practice their profession in other countries without getting further education.

list bulletAbout my college education: BS Accountancy is not an easy course. People might say that you only need to learn the basic operations in order to pass this course - well, that's true, but not absolutely true. Analyzation is one of the skills one taking up BSA should have. This is what distinguishes the Accountancy course from other so-called "Math courses". This course uses conceptual approach, which means, analyzing based on different concepts and theories, unlike other courses that uses procedural approach.

If you want to pass your subjects and be a successful accountant someday, be prepared to stay late in the wee hours of the night reading long chapters of discussion, and afterwards solving problems related to that topic. You also need to become studious and devote less time to personal activities as the subjects are really demanding when it comes to time.

list bulletMy current job: I'm currently a Finance Analyst supporting an international-based oil company. As a Finance Analyst, I am assigned as the front liner for inquiries regarding the company's Accounts Payable. I provide over-the-phone and email support to vendors and users with their concerns about outstanding, unregistered and overdue invoices.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Yes. Aside from being a mere student, I joined various school organizations that enhanced my skills which I am able to use at my current job. My knowledge in accounting, plus the communication skills I developed as I join different organizations helped me a lot to land the job where I'm currently at.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Less than a month.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Yes, as lots of opportunities are evident in classified ads, online job portals, and other job vacancy sources for those with degree in BS Accountancy and related fields. Government, public institutions, and even private companies need accountants. Career-wise, an accountant has a lot of opportunities of growth, and he/she can take further specializations and certifications to increase his/her market value in the field of Finance.

Salary level for entry-level accountants are not that rewarding as it ranges from Php 14,000-Php 18,000, but as you manage to stay longer, gather enough experience and climbed the corporate ladder, salary will be greater than other professionals, basing from years of experience in the chosen field.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Take little steps. Make sure to understand the topic you're currently studying before going to the next as you still need the knowledge that you will learn from your major subjects in the CPA board exam.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. B.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At St. Paul School Of Business And Law - Palo
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I choose Accountancy because it was my fathers job.

list bulletAbout my college education: We learned the language of business. That to accounting is not all about numbers but about transaction. The hardest subject for me was Management Accounting subject because here we try to apply the accounting concept to management and decision making. The most enjoyable was Business Law, because it relates to the our lives.

Passing the exams is difficult. Some of my classmates failed and repeated the subject but it did not stop them from moving forward. Now they are proud CPAs.

I think to succeed in any course a student should have driving ambition for success. "Being satisfied with what you have but silently strive for more."

list bulletMy current job: I am a tax professional in a top tiered accounting firm.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: All the things I learned, especially in the field of accounting and taxation, are used in my current job.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Less than 2 months.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: I greatly recommend this course, if your lost and confused what course to learn, pick Accountancy. It will change the way you think. Great opportunities also await here and aboard.

Pick this course, it's hard, stressful, and has a high-rate for failure. But if you succeed, just imagine how great you are.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
P. C.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At University Of The Philippines
◈ Graduated 2012

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I chose this course since I really do love Math even before and even until now. Accounting is a very challenging course and I was really inclined to this field.

list bulletAbout my college education: Admittedly, during the first few days when the school started, I got bored with the subjects and professors. But when I entered my third year, when there was a time that we have this subject that we should get a 2.0 grade and above, it was also like the point of my life that I thought I should quit, because I cannot anymore survive and proceed. But I was wrong, even my professors had pushed me because they believe in me. To be strong is a trait that UP had taught me which I really needed in order for me to go on with my life with my chosen career.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently work in a nonlife insurance company serving as a finance staff. My work includes everything about accounting and financing.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Basically, everything about accounting can really be applied with my current job. Aside from the accounting skills, my interpersonal skills were developed. From doing the collection of receipts to recording name it, I do.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I graduated October 2012 and got the job by November 2012. So yes, it is like a month after graduation that I got hired.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: As an accountancy graduate, it is undeniably a course that can get you an immediate employment. Auditors nowadays are very helpful for companies and each company needs accounting staff. So definitely, you will always have a place in a company. Always remember that it is the accounting personnel who will be laid of the latest because closing the books depends on them.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: There is just one thing that you need to know before entering the gates of Accountancy - If you are willing to spend sleepless nights just solving an auditing problem, if you are willing to let go of night life because you need to study for the next day's exam, if you are more than willing to learn accounting, proceed with Accountancy.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. M.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Wesleyan University Philippines
◈ Graduated 2007

list bulletAbout my college education: When we here the course Accountancy we mostly think of Math. People mostly think that all persons took Accountancy in college are good in math. But if you look at it broader views, Accountancy is more on analization. It is more on giving more time to think of a problem and do action to come up with what is in the standards. Yes, we have computation but it is mostly simple mathematical operation but with detailed analysis of how we came up with that result. So if you have that in mind or you really like thinking much of a problem, better to take up this course.
Accountancy sometimes connect with law since Accountancy course do have law subjects that really help a lot to excel more if you plan to be a lawyer. After passing the board and be a CPA it will become simple for you to take up Law.

list bulletMy current job: Am an Accounting Officer in a real estate industry.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Being in the actual field of accounting really differs what was learned in school. But then, you still have to apply the skills and knowledge you acquired during colleges years. I still applying my skills in computation and my analytical thinking.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I had my job right after graduation in a multinational manufacturing company.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Accountancy profession is the best course you can have in terms of career opportunities and salary as well. All establishment needs an Accountant to run their business from start-up to end. You will surely have bigger opportunities once you became a Certified Public Accountant.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
M. L.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Laguna College Of Business And Arts
◈ Graduated 2016

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: Well, personally I hate numbers. It not my thing. But when I heard that Accountants and of course CPAs are in demand, I decided to take BSA.

list bulletAbout my college education: If you want to challenge your intellectual capacity, accountancy is for you. Accounting is not easy. In order to have a degree in accounting you must survived accounting subject of course, taxation, business law, IT, business mathematics and other management subjects. It well totally prepare you for the corporate world.

LCBA is very generous to it's student, we don't have retention grade and annual qualification or departmental exam. But still, some of my classmates decided to shift as they can't withstand the demand of accounting school.

Here, your seatmate might be a valedictorian or salutatorian of his batch. Most of your classmates is technically, a geek. So first week of accounting class is quite intimidating since everyone want to shine and excel. Everybody is competitive.

But more than the intellectual aspect, one can't survive accounting no matter how smart you ate if you are not dedicated and interested in accounting. Accounting is not a typical math, it not a science at all. It is boring at first but once you see the beauty of accounting you'll surely love it.

list bulletMy current job: I'm currently an internal auditor

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: More of the accounting side. College taught me to be patient and focused no matter what happens.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After passing the CPA board, I immediately got a job.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Yes! Opportunity abroad is always available specially if you will work in audit firm with international affiliation.

But I can tell you, being a CPA is a very good investment. You'll surely received a good salary after 3-5 years of working.
Salary for entry level is ranging from 10k-20k depending if you are a CPA or not.
For experienced accountant your salary can reached high as 70k.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Accounting is not easy. If you love math, go get an engineering course because accounting is not math, it more in analyzing.
If you want to challenge your self, accounting is for you.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
M. K.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Philippine School Of Business Administration - Quezon City Campus
◈ Graduated 1997

list bulletAbout my college education: I choose the course BSA based on what I think I am comfortable and would like to do that relates to my personality. My dream was to work in an environment where I can share ideas/skills and without exerting too much physical activities. This course does not necessarily requires that you are a Math wizzard, being good in Analysis is more important. So I choose Accountancy not because my Mom or Dad or Auntie likes it, this is what I think I would love to do over and over again.

In order to be competitive, you need to be excellent not only in academics, you can opt to join School Activities and Organizations. This will help fully develop your interpersonal skills, communication, learn your multi tasking and leadership ability. This will really help you get the job you wanted.

list bulletMy current job: Financial Analyst

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Yes, most of it, the Financial Reporting & Analysis.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Right after graduation, I landed at my dream job at SGV&Co

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: This course is highly recommended, jobs are waiting for you in every corner. Sometimes jobs will hunt you, you you can choose which job or employers you want to be with. This is fulfilling career, and a lot of opportunities in local or abroad
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
B. V.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Polytechnic University of the Philippines-Manila
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletAbout my college education: Most students has misconceptions when hearing the course BS Accountancy. They though this was purely mathematics wherein you need a lot of computations, algebra, calculus or in short, you need numbers as your best friend. That is completely wrong! BS Accountancy is more of problem solving and analysis. You don't need to be Math Geek to solve tricky business problems. You need to be keen into details, you should know how to think out of the box, you should be persevered because Accountancy is a tough course, you should know how to beat time, you should know how to expand your resource materials and you should always pray to God to guide you in your preferred line of duty.

list bulletMy current job: I am an auditor from one of the top accounting and auditing firms in the country. Thanks to my alma matter for honing my skills and abilities. With about 2 years in the Company, I am already expecting to be promoted as a supervisor mid of this year.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: What I learned from school is just a half of what I am really doing in job. As a colloquial of a typical young professional, school is different from corporate. It is just a plus if you did good in school because you can apply some knowledge that you acquire during school days. I thank computer classes are practical because it is very important in corporate settings.
With regards to technical skills, I can always apply the analytical skills I learned for my 4 years stay in the College. My job is actually very related to accounting as I am practicing public accountancy. The accounting standards, accounting concepts and principles, business statistics and economics, I can use them all in my present job. But then, learning is not only confide in schools, I can still learn a lot.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After graduation, I enrolled in a review school as preparation for the Board Exams. It was May 2010 when I graduated and my review class ended October 2010. Fortunately, I easily grabbed a position in a real estate firm after passing the board exam. It was October 2010 when I passed the board and November 2010 when I started my first job.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: I will definitely recommend it. Accountancy is an essential part of every businesses. If you graduated from this course, you have a lot of fields of job to choose. You can be an external auditor, internal auditor, bookkeeper, corporate accountant, government accountant and many more. I believe that Accountancy will remain as one of the important professions in the World.

What you will learn in college will be used in your job. A marketing officer can be filled up with anyone who is good at marketing but an accountant position can not be easily filled up unless you graduated or passed the Accountancy course/board exam.

The salary level is also good. Accountants are highly renowned professionals and the salary grade is above the average.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. A.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Pamantasan Ng Lungsod Ng Maynila
◈ Graduated 2011

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I chose to study BS in Accountancy because I honestly dreamed of being a CPA Lawyer. Another drive that I have in taking this up is my passion and interest in math and analysis.

list bulletAbout my college education: Studying BS accountancy is not as easy as 1,2,3. It requires discipline, patience, enthusiasm and perseverance. In studying accounting I learned all things necessary for me to be a good accountant, from the accounting basic principles up to the most complex ones. Subjects are not really hard if a student will see to it that he or she will allot time and efforts in studying. Everything that is being taught in the academe are all worth keeping all are very important.

list bulletMy current job: I'm an accountant in a known company.
I am handling general accounting task. I am in charge of accounting which includes preparation of statement of accounts for our clients, preparation of report where in expenses are consolidated and compared with what was budgetted to arrive with the variance, cash monitoring, rebates monitoring and general ledger analysis.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: All things being taught in the academe are very important, though some of this will really not be used in our jobs. But I still use it as point of reference.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I was able to get a job a month after graduation.
Actually it was the company who called for an interview, they told that they got my details from my alma mater.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Bs accountancy is really a very good pick.

Being an accounting graduate gives you an edge in employment opportunities since graduates of this course are in demand nowadays.

In terms of salary, it is very competitive and salary definitely increases as you add more years in that industry.


list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: To the ones who are considering to study bs accountancy, pursue it. You just have to be eager to learn and enthusiastic. Persevere and study hard, it will be a 4 or 5 year long and winding journey but once you will be able to pass and graduate in that course, I'm telling you, that will be the start when you will see the sunshine after the rain. Never give up
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
L. B.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Araullo University
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: When I was to decide which course will I take in college, one thing made me to choose accountancy - HAPPINESS.

list bulletAbout my college education: Many says that BS in Accountancy is a hard hard college program- even next to medicine and law. I extremely agree, it took me to tear and sweat blood to finish this course without losing my scholarship. In the higher years of my study where all the subjects are major, I must say that was the darkest part of my college. From 15 sections down to 1, this proves the toughness of this course. Sleepless nights were flooding, especially in studying Law and Taxation. That was my weakest subject back then. It took me to even eat my books to digest all the lessons :). Kidding. But I must also say that in successfully finishing this journey, perseverance, determination and love to what you do is all you've got.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently an external auditor in an auditing firm in Ayala, Makati City.
I have had handled many companies in various industries; being able to apply my learning in college and board exam. I experienced to travel in different parts of the country to audit. But most importantly, I was able to meet and encounter different types of people- from different stages of professions.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Yes, especially all the taxing accounting and auditing standards are what you need to perform well in your work.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After the Board exam, in less than one month, I was able to start in my first job.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Yes, BS in Accountancy is an in demand profession. And it will continue in the future because Accounting services are embedded in every companies. Regarding the salary, once you've got the license you are assured of many job opportunities. At first, your salary will not be so high but upon gaining experience, your salary will continuously increase.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Just love what you do. With this, you will not doubt of having it successfully survived by YOU.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
K. A.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Polytechnic University Of The Philippines
◈ Graduated 2007

list bulletAbout my college education: College life in its basic idea is a continuous struggle and learning experience, moreso my course. Taking this course is a very serious matter.

In our school, in order to stay enrolled in the College of Accountancy (COA), we have what we call a "dos (2.0) policy", wherein you will be kicked out of the course once you have a grade below 2.0 during your first 2 years. To add to that, even the professors are known to be very notorious and grumpy (well, they spent most of their time studying, what would you expect). It was very challenging and that kept us interested in moving forward. I can say its also rewarding because people will tag you as "intelligent" for just being able to cope up with the challenge, and you will not feel like a geek or nerd given everybody needs to do same: study real serious.

There is a misconception that in order to be in Accountancy you have to be good with numbers. I would say, you need to have very good analytical skills, basic math knowledge and good grammar skills. Common sense, needless to say, has always been required.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently the Compliance officer of a multinational company with a business on agriculture.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: I can say my course is really practical. You deal with money and understands how a business operates and how to run it. No company or business can stand without an accountant, what more a CPA.

Almost everything is practical, depending on the situation you are facing and what issue do you need to resolve. Most topics are interrelated, and that's where your analytical skills come in. You have to understand how one aspect of the business affects the others. I am holding the position now of a Compliance Officer so I have bigger view than specialized Finance units such as Treasury, Accounts payable, Reporting, etc.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After graduation, I still had to take the CPA board exams. After passing the Board, in 2 weeks time, I already started my job in the most prestige audit firm in the Philippines.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Yes, I would recommend my course as this is very practical. Again, no company or business can stand without an accountant, what more a CPA. It is very fulfilling as you will always be able to use what you've studied and you know the company needs you. Competition is also very high so there is a continuous struggle to improve yourself.
Salary level is always negotiable, esp. if you are licensed and experienced.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
M. A.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At De La Salle University Manila
◈ Graduated 2010

list bulletAbout my college education: DLSU-Manila's Accountancy curriculum is unique and interesting for it follows the modular program. Under the program, major subjects are divided into modules. In my time, we took up one module for 2 weeks, 3-5 hours per day. After those 2 weeks, we were required to take up a final exam and we begin a new module the following day.

Advanced math skills are not required in Accountancy. What's more important is one's analytical ability and comprehension.

list bulletMy current job: Lead Consultant

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Working in an auditing firm, I am able to use what I learned not only in my accounting subjects but also in business and personal development subjects in my work.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Even before graduation, a lot of companies were already contacting me for interview. However, I decided to take the board exam first and immediately got an offer a day after the results were released.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: I would highly recommend this course. There are a lot of employment opportunities because every company needs an accountant. In addition to that, auditing firms and BPO companies regularly hire a lot of accounting graduates, both CPAs and non-CPAs. Graduates of accountancy can explore different career opportunities in the academe, public practice, commerce and industry, and government and the career gets more interesting as you continue to move up. In terms of salary, I can say that accounting graduates working in auditing firms should not expect a very high salary at the start. However, the experience and training that you would obtain in an audit firm would raise your value and allow you to demand high salary when you transfer work.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
B. E.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At PUP-Sta Mesa
◈ Graduated 2014

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I chose this course because most of my relatives said that this was a profitable course, and that it would be easy for me to look for a job after I graduate if I take this course.

list bulletAbout my college education: The course is really difficult to study: at the end of the second year in college, students have to take a qualification exam which determines if you can continue the Accountancy program or not. So this means that not all students who enrolled as Accountancy majors in their freshman year were able to graduate in the same course. Those who did not pass the qualification exams either shift out to other related courses (like Banking and Finance) or transfer to other schools to once again try their luck in the Accountancy program. A lot of students fail the qualification exams, not to mention that even if you do pass the qualification exams, you're still not sure if you can graduate with an Accountancy degree because subjects get harder every sem, like Practical Accounting 2. So you either fail the qualification exam, or fail your subjects.

The whole course can be both boring and enjoyable at the same time, it actually depends on the professors who handle each subject and the friends you're with in your classes. The most useful things I learned are actually the basics of Accountancy. Today, I am able to apply this basic knowledge in my everyday life, like the way I handle my money.

list bulletMy current job: As of now, I do a part-time job since I'm still reviewing for the CPA board exams. I work as an Accounting Clerk. I work Monday-Friday except on Wednesdays which I reserve for my review day (along with my review classes every Saturday and Sunday). In my job, I actually do quite a lot of things. I prepare the report presentations for board meetings, I check and balance account statements, record transactions, and reply via e-mail to the company's clients. I also update the company's records and help the company's CPA in preparing BIR requirements.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took me less than a week when I was hired in my current work.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: My only advice for people who are considering studying BS Accountancy is this: be patient. This is a hard course, and there may be times that you want to give up, but don't lose hope. Be patient, especially when trying to solve a certain balancing problem. I know it's quite a cliché but DO STUDY HARD, you're gonna need it in this course.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
L. N.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Polytechnic University Of The Philippines
◈ Graduated 2003

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: The initial reason is not an ideal one.
My plan was to enroll in BS Computer Engineering. The registration is on the same floor as BS Accountancy (5th floor of PUP Sta. Mesa Main). The crowd on BSA is just insanely huge compared to 5-8 people queuing for BSCE. Even if I have no idea what Accountancy is, I was swayed by the scene and I'm glad because I made the right choice.

list bulletAbout my college education: You really don't need to be a math wiz to survive and be excellent in this course. For me, the most important thing that helped me during undergrad is my patience to read different books in Accounting. I don't just rely on the issued books. The key in Accounting is ANALYSIS. How well you understand the concepts.

For me, Management Advisory Services were the most difficult.
Accounting and business law concepts were the most useful things I've learned.

It is difficult to pass the exams. Yes many failed. And yes, many people from my freshmen class shifted to another course. This is because of the "dos-policy" being implemented during my time. You cannot go on when you have a grade lower than 2.00 on major subjects.

list bulletMy current job: I now moved to SAP FICO analyst/consultant role after 8 years of working in general accounting.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: For the major subjects, yes.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: Just one month. Please note that Monster and Jobstreet were not yet a "thing" in 2003, but I managed to land my first job in just a month with the help of my alma mater. Me and my friend leveraged on the University's job placement assistance.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Bias aside, yes I do recommend this course.

Employment opportunities:
- You will not run out of "hits" in your job search. Accountants are always needed in every company

Salary level:
- Depending on the company size and if the company is MNC or local, starting salary can range from Php14,000 - Php25,000.

Fulfilling or interesting:
- This is subjective. It depends on the person's priorities and passion.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Reading different sources will sharpen your analytical skills. Polish your vocabulary. You don't want to miss an easy question just because you got confused on "neither" "other than" "all of these but". As I've said analysis is king in this course.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
M. F.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Jose Rizal University
◈ Graduated 2008

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I chose this course not because I am best in math, but because I believed that I'm good in analysis and this will help me in managing my own business in the future. Accountancy was one of the in demand courses, and there were a lot of jobs for accounting graduates.

list bulletAbout my college education: I learned the accounting process. I think the most difficult is the in depth study of Financial Accounting of different business types, and the accounting process. The most useful things that I learned is analysis of transactions and accounting entries because I'm applying it always in my job right now.

The difficulty of passing the board exam depends really on you and the preparation you did before the board exam. Yes there's lot of people failing the exam maybe because on unpreparedness and maybe not the right time.

To be successful in passing the board exam you should have discipline in your study and manage your time well in studying different subjects in board exam. You should attend cpa board review also and listen to your reviewers.

list bulletMy current job: I'm working as Accounting Executive under general accounting, focusing on managing daily transactions in inventory and doing monthly reports for the preparation of financial statements.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: I can say that when I was in college I was able to sharpen my analytical skills, that I'm using everyday in my job.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took me less than a month to find a job.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Definitely yes, because there's a lot of job openings for accounting graduates either in BPO or non BPO industry.

For salary level, fresh graduate may earn above minimum, much higher if you pass the CPA board exam. For experienced accountants like me, you can earn above 20k.

It's an interesting career because you may gain a lot of experience in different business types and you have a chance for corporate ladder.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: For those students who want to pursue BS Accountancy, aim not only for diploma but to pass the CPA board exam, and great if you topnotch!, because passing the CPA board exam will open a lot of career opportunities for you. Study hard and learn everything you can.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
J. B.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Northwestern University
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I wanted more thrill. This is actually my second course. I enrolled at Divine Word College of Laoag (BS in Hospitality Management) and studied there for one year. But then I realized that I don't have the passion. So I transferred to Northwestern University and chose the course that really interests me.

list bulletAbout my college education: Studying BS in Accountancy is hard and very challenging. I learned how to effectively manage my assets. How to make financial statements, how to audit. The auditing theories, taxation and my favorite topic, foreign exchange and cost accounting. We also discussed some parts of the civil law and commercial laws. I really enjoyed our subjects. I really learned a lot.

Our law subjects really are the most difficult. There're lots of articles and sections to analyse and not just memorize.

Taxation is the most useful subject. I can use it in my everyday life. Especially income taxation.

Passing those exams was difficult and there were times that the whole class failed and we just laughed with our scores. All of us experienced failure when it comes to our exams but we never lose our hopes.
Few of my classmates shifted to another course and most of us were retained in the program.

list bulletMy current job: I was an Accounting Assistant at VelcoAsia Co. I handled the accounts of 4 companies at the same time. I was the one who managed their cash in banks, their checks and their invoices.
But I resigned last March 2014 because I have to prepare for the upcoming July 2014 CPA Licensure Exam.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Income taxation is very useful. Also with basic accounting, financial accounting, management advisory services and law. They were of great help when I was employed. I know my rights and I know how to effectively do my job.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: About three weeks. Thanks to JobStreet.com :)

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: In terms of employment, I would recommend this course because accountants are really needed in every company. Whenever there are businesses, there should also be accountants and there are a lot of auditing firms here in the Philippines, especially in Manila. Accountants can also practice their profession abroad.

Accountants/CPAs have a high salary level. A fresh graduate can expect 12,000/month at average. And if you earned your CPA license, you could expect a salary of about 18,000/month or more for an entry-level.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Taking the BS in Accountancy requires your heart and great attention to your studies. But while you go on with your struggles, never fail to make friends because they'll make your college life happier and less difficult.
Recognize the sacrifices of your parents and loved ones and make them your inspiration.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
A. A.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Asia Pacific College
◈ Graduated 2012

list bulletAbout my college education: It was a very interesting course, at first yes it was very difficult but as time goes by you will you will be missing your encounter with the difficult things while studying when given the easy things. It was really a great challenge to me when I decided to take up my course, since I only have a little idea of what accounting is all about but I still managed to finish it with the support of my instructors, friends, family and of course by the guidance of God.

the enjoyable part during my college days were the days I've spent with my classmates or friends just to study, to the point that we have to go to my house just to share with each other what we know. Also, I really like the internship program of our school since it provides us the experience of what the real world is like when we graduate. Lastly, during the INTEGRA (integrated review) wherein I usually stay at Starbucks with my best friend just to study the review materials given to us by the review center.

To succeed as a student of this course you have to be good in communicating with your classmates, because sometimes there are things which you thought that you already understand where in fact you are wrong. you also have to be good in analyzing, since this is what you need to be able to start the accounting cycle. Hard work is very important, if you don't have this yet then you better acquire this skill. and of course you have to be an optimistic person, always think that "I can do this!"

list bulletMy current job: VP for Finance

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: yes, especially my course is all about law, theories, formulas, formats and what I am doing right now is the application of these in my company.
right now, I am using everything that I have learned inside the school and also during the internship program.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: just a month

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: yes!
Employment opportunities: there are plenty of opportunities waiting for you in the industry.

Fulfilling: it is very fulfilling especially when you've finished the things that are assigned to you. it is interesting since it deals with money. we all know that money has a very important role in the society of today.

Salary level: great salary offers awaits you especially when you've got the best work experience.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
G. D.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Far Eastern University
◈ Graduated 2013

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I have 5 siblings. The girls opted to take a medicine-related career. The guys have chosen a business-related course. Since I'm a girl, I'm expected to pursue medicine; however, because of that expectation, I chose Accountancy. I do not see myself as someone who holds a scalpel but rather a calculator.

list bulletAbout my college education: If there is one cliche statement that annoys me about Accountancy, it is: "Accountancy ka? Edi magaling ka sa Math?"

I have learned, through those five long years, Accountancy is never about Math. This is never about how good you are in math operations. Again, let me emphasize that Accountancy is NEVER about Math. Actually, it's more about English. How good you are in English, analysis and logic--that's what truly counts. Well, it is just a bonus if you are good in Math. Because everyone who enters College knows how to add, subtract, multiply and divide. And being an accountant, those basic operations are not a forte you can brag to the whole world. There's more to us than just that.

I was the worst student, as in literally the worst to the point of always getting the lowest grade, in Advanced Accounting (P2). I hated that subject back then because there are times that my professor is announcing the grades. I used to come to class late or not at all so as not to hear my name to be in the bottom list. Moreover, in FEU, we have this Comprehensive Review wherein we have to pass the board subjects. And guess what, it seemed that always being in the bottom list is not enough, I even failed P2 in the review class. Actually, it's not only P2. I also failed P1 and MS. I have to retake those subjects to graduate on time. That was the first time that I got a 5 in my transcript. But hey, to spoil you, I did graduate on time. It's just that, getting one failing grade is too mainstream. I made it three--just in one semester. I have to turn the tables and think positively. There were times that I am feeling that these bad things won't stop. But it did. Yeah, many of my batch mates failed. And if you're gonna ask, they did not fail only 3 subjects, but 5. Nevertheless, this is not a competition of who failed the most number of subjects.

This is reality. And accountancy is one hell of ride -- a JOYRIDE. Along the way, there were students who stopped and stepped out of the bus. There were students, of course, that even if they don't want to get off yet, they were thrown out of the window. Accountancy, though a joy and fun ride, is not a joke. I used to think that I was just lucky that I got in the BSA Program of the university. There were 18 sections (with 40 students at least in each) during my first year in college. We are included in the Internal Auditing Program. Before we enter second year, we have to take qualifying exams for the BSA Program. And maybe, just maybe, out of sheer luck? My friends were retained in the IA Program. I was the only one who passed the exams. Talking about the loser who entered second year with no friends at all trying to fit in the 4 new sections of the BSA Program. Yeah, you read it right. From 18, down to 4.

The adjusting phase was difficult. It was really hard. Maintaining your discipline is not easy at all. You have to keep your focus. But then, discipline, focus, patience--those words are way too hard to bear. You have to gain friends to keep your sanity. They are the ones who will help you get through College. Or at least those persons who can help you bear the pain of being an Accountancy Student.

Plot twist: For whatever reason that is, P2 is one of the subjects in the board exam that I obtained the highest marks ;) Talk about irony. It became my favorite subject during my Review Days for Board Exam. The true joy of studying Accountancy came out during my days in ReSA. It was never a burden to attend the classes since everyday, you were like in a comedy bar where Accounting is the hot issue. :) Did I mention that I loved ReSA that much that I highly recommend this review school for the reviewees? So there, yeah. I repeat, I was never the one of the best students back then, but ReSA has contributed greatly for me to become a Certified Public Accountant (CPA).

list bulletMy current job: External Auditor (Junior) in one of the Auditing Firms in Makati.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: I had to take review classes after graduation. After the April 2013 graduation, I started attending review classes in Review School of Accountancy (ReSA) for 6 months. I took the Board Exam in October 2013 and passed it. I got a job a week after the release of the results.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: No doubt, employment opportunities never end if you take BS Accountancy. Salary level - the best will come soon enough. You will only reap what you sow.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: Reassess. Think things through. Accountancy is not for those who have a weak heart. LOLJK. Do not listen to those people who always say that for they do not know what they are saying.

Like what our P2 Reviewer said before, "Pakiramdaman mo lang." Easier said than done? Nope. In all honesty, you can feel it inside you if something is really meant for you. If it's a thing you badly want, then by all means, your body will move at it's own accord to get that one thing you badly want. NEVER EVER GIVE UP. And most of all, PRAY.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
D. S.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At St.Paul School Of Business
◈ Graduated 2002

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I like to become an Accountant someday.

list bulletAbout my college education: In the classrooms the students are given accounting exercises. I learned how to make the different ledgers and financial statements.

The subject of management accounting was a bit hard. There is always a repeat exam for somebody who fails. I am lucky I passed my subjects.

In order not to fail, one should not be lazy to study and understand what he is reading. In this course, one should listen to the teachers because their explanation of certain topics are very important.

list bulletMy current job: My present job as an Account Clerk is to update the deposits and withdrawals of the clients in the bank in Ormoc City, Leyte. I also do other accounting work as required by my superior.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: The accounting exercises and practical training during college helped in my current job. To be accurate in the counting of money, recording, and being honest were things I learned.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: My work with this bank came after a year from graduation. But one thing good is that my employment is permanent.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: Accounting is the right course for people who want to be CPAs or those who want to work in banks. There are many companies who need accounting graduates and the salary is reasonable.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: I would advise them that accounting is a professional job and that one should be serious about this even while still studying. He must learn the good habits and the right attitudes.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
M. C.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy
◈ At Saint Louis University
◈ Graduated 2007

list bulletAbout my college education: Back in 2002, I decided to take up a course that would prepare me for the corporate life. Accountancy is the top choice for most students back then since it is both a challenging and rewarding course. They say, it's boring and that it's for geeks, but really, it's just a matter of perspective.
I've always loved Mathematics and problem solving is something that I enjoy answering during examinations. These, I suppose, are the main reasons why I was able to endure the 5 long years of studying Accountancy and such skills are necessary if you really want to succeed in this course. If you love numbers and are not afraid of the complexity that comes along with problem solving, you'll definitely enjoy this course.

list bulletMy current job: I am currently an Accountant for an Australian Company.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Knowledge about the basic accounting theories and principles has been very essential in my professional career. It is the foundation of most of the tasks that's been assigned to me. I would not be able to perform my accounting duties without these basic knowledge.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: After graduation, I needed to review for 6 months for the CPA board exam. After the review I decided to look for a job and in less than a month, I got my first job.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: This is the reality, every company and every business is in need of an Accountant. Thus, employment opportunities for Accountants are limitless. But the sad truth is that, while there is an abundance in job opportunities, one is not promised a high compensation for their services.
Accountancy graduates who enters Auditing firms are said to have a better career ahead of them compared to those who start as accountants immediately. Auditing is a good training ground, although the starting salary might not be proportional to the bulk of work that will be handled to you.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull
E. S.
◈ Studied BS in Accountancy major in Banking and Finance
◈ At Ateneo De Davao University
◈ Graduated 2011

list bulletWhy did I choose Accountancy: I chose this course because it was what my mom wanted for me to take, because she wants to see me work in the corporate world. Accountancy isn't my fist choice, though. I was actually a shiftee from Engineering, and since I found Engineering to be very difficult for me, I shifted to a course and I found Accountancy just fit for me.

list bulletAbout my college education: I have to say that Accountancy is special and a specific science or art of it's own. I mean, you can be very smart, that is, you can be a lawyer or a doctor or a scientist but if you do not know Accounting, then you are still under the mercy of accountants, unlike other forms of study where we all have a basic knowledge of. So, I think that somehow sets Accountancy apart from other courses, and you have to deal with it for four or five years so, it is really a form of specialization. It's also exciting to note that it is applicable to everyone and all organizations, not just the business sector.

The most difficult Accounting subjects for me are: (1) Financial Accounting because it is very tedious; and (2) Law subjects (all of them) because there are just so many rules, sometimes I cannot relate to them, and I find the law jargon old-fashioned so I hate it. All these are just my own reasons. Passing and liking a subject also depend greatly on the teacher, and the circumstances too, such as the class schedule, your classmates, etc. Just always remember that whatever happens, you are on your own so save yourself as no one else will.

There's no glory without sacrifice, I guess. That also applies in taking exams. All of them are difficult if you do not study. One time, because I haven't studied, I found myself at a loss during an exam because all the words in the test paper are new to me, because I did not read and study. So, do not let that happen to you.

To survive and graduate in Accountancy, one must be diligent but fun-loving, independent but friendly, competitive but social.

list bulletMy current job: Currently, I am an auditor in one of the most prestigious organizations in the country.

list bulletAm I using what I learned in college: Not all of what I learned in college is applicable in the 'real world', but they are all helpful -- even the Math subjects! There is indeed a finer wisdom on why we had to learn about polynomials and formulas. The most important thing is that you are prepared and updated, because being an accountant or auditor does not mean being secluded in a desk or cubicle, you have to have a wide knowledge of other things. Sometimes what you hated in college is just what you should embrace in the workplace. I used to hate law, but now I should make amends with it, because it is integrally part of my job now.

list bulletHow long did it take to find a job: It took me eleven months, but I wasn't looking for job for the next seven months after graduation since I had to review and take the CPA Board Examination first.

list bulletDo I recommend studying Accountancy: There is surprisingly a very vast range of employment opportunities for accountants anywhere.

My entry-level salary was just barely five-digits, but I did not lose heart because I know that as a CPA, promotion and salary increase is just a few months or one to two years away. Now, five years after graduation, I'm earning much much more than I expect to earn back when I was still a student.

list bulletAdvice to people who are thinking of studying this course: First, you must have that drive that pushes you to go on. Not all Accountancy students love or like their course. Sometimes, their parents chose it for them or they took it maybe due to peer pressure. But whatever the reason for taking Accountancy is, if you are already in it, find something that would push you to strive and thrive.

For me, I really like Accounting because I felt it to be an elite course, a special course meant only for the smart, diligent and passionate. Also, I learned that when I graduate, I can be an agent of change and do something that can help in nation-building. Isn't that great?

Aside from that, I always think of my parents and how I never want to disappoint them. These are what pushed me to survive and graduate in my course, and eventually become a CPA.
Was this review useful to you? Usefull Not usefull

Find Accountancy schools

Share your experience
Are you a graduate of BS in Accountancy?
Tell us about your experience »
0.094